Welcome to Mansfield University!

Welcome to Mansfield University!

President Scott BartonWhen Mansfield Classical Seminary opened its doors in 1857, one of our founders, Simon B. Elliott, declared that our institution should “strive to make education universal, that the rich and the poor, the child of those who have power and place, and of those who tread the lowly paths of life, shall receive alike the blessings of education. And invite equally and alike, without distinction of sex, or color, or race, or creed, or party, the children of all who may desire to participate in the opportunities here offered. That is the highest purpose for which Mansfield may be praised.” His words are as true today as they were in 1857.

No matter what challenges we have faced and continue to face, Mansfield’s mandate has and will always be to prepare our students for their life’s journey. Situated on 175 acres in the beautiful mountains of northern Pennsylvania, Mansfield University offers students a unique personalized environment with tremendous opportunities for learning and growth. Our campus is relaxing and comfortable, a perfect place for studying, interacting with faculty and staff, participating in university and community activities, and making new friends.

I would like to extend a warm welcome to our new students and to those returning to Mansfield University to begin a new academic year. Here at Mansfield University we are committed to your academic and personal development. We are here to help you on your journey toward being the best version of yourself. Make the most of your time here at Mansfield University and don’t be afraid to try new things. Be bold. Believe in yourself. And remember – we’re all on this journey together.

If I can be of any assistance or answer any questions, email me at president@mansfield.edu, or call me at 570-662-4046.

Scott Barton

Scott W.H. Barton

Previous Messages from the President

Special Message from the President - October 2, 2017
Special Message from the President - August 21, 2017